Growing a Garden….I hope I don’t kill it!

Standard

“Mary Mary quite contrary, how does your garden grow…..”.

We are starting a new project at our school where we are growing different fruits, vegetables and flowers in a garden. The kids will get to grow their own plants and then help to take care of them. 4th Grade is planting watermelons and tomatoes and then my class just planted squash. Now, I am not the biggest fan of squash, but it was the better option from the other seeds.

Which seed do you think is out of place? hmmmmmmmmm……..

That’s right. The orange seed is just a little bit different. My students went to ihop the other day and found out that they are giving out Truffala Tree seeds. They were so excited that they decided to bring these seeds to school so we could plant them there.

We will be starting our Garden next week and then after that guess what that week is…….? SPRING BREAK!!!! What teacher does not LOVE spring break! Well, I do.

I am very excited about our future garden and getting the kids involved in the process. My students were so excited today to see that some of their seeds are actually growing.

On a running front, I ran 2 miles on Monday and Tuesday and then I rested yesterday, today and tomorrow. Then Saturday I will run 3 miles. I am trying not to think to far ahead in my marathon training and just taking it day by day. If I look to far ahead, then I will get very overwhelmed.

And just for your enjoyment and in recognition of the movie, “The Lorax”….

My baby girl Milly with her Lorax toy. She loves it! 

Question: What are you training for right now?

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

4 responses »

  1. This brings back such fun memories from my childhood and our many projects at home and at school where we grew various things. Enjoy spring break!!!!

Leave a Reply

