My First Gluten Free Recipe

Standard

I am going to try and start sharing a healthy/yummy recipe with you every Sunday. This Sunday is special to my family and I as we do not only celebrate about bunnies and hunting easter eggs, but we instead celebrate that Christ has risen because he paid the ultimate sacrifice on the cross for you and I.

I have been finding all kinds of yummy recipes on Pinterest and through friends that I just had to share them with you all.

Today, the recipe I am going to share with you is called,

“Brownie ‘n Berries Dessert Pizza (Gluten Free)

This recipe is delicious and healthy too.

Ingredients:

*1 Box of Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix

* Butter and eggs called for on brownie mix box

*1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened

*1/3 cup sugar

*1/2 teaspoon Vanilla

*2 cups sliced fresh strawberries

*1 cup fresh blueberries

*1 cup fresh raspberries

*1/2 cup apple jelly

First, you heat the oven to 350 F. or 325 F. for a dark or nonstick pan). I used Pam to spray the bottom of the pan, but you can also use flour or shortening.

In a Large bowl, stir the brownie mix, butter and eggs until well blended, and then spread that on the pan.

Next, bake the brownie 18-20 minutes or until you can stick a toothpick through it and it comes out clean. Cool completely for about an hour. In a small bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla with a electric mixer. (I just used a hand mixer) Spread this over the top of the brownie after it has cooled.

Next, take your strawberries and cute them up into smaller pieces. Then, arrange your berries over the cream cheese. Stir the Apple Jelly until it is smooth; and brush this over the top of your berries. (I used a basking brush and it worked perfect).

Refrigerate for about an hour or until cold and cut into wedges (like a pizza) and viola, it will turn out like this….

And this is what happens when you bring it to school and feed a bunch of hungry teachers….

Question: What is your favorite healthy recipe? I love hearing about other healthy recipes, so if you have any, please share! 

Last week was a slow week for working out as I performed in a play called “The Last Days of Christ” and we only had a 4 day school week. I ran twice, 3 miles and 4 miles and I am hoping to pick that back up this week.

Just a sneak peek of what is to come….The play that I helped in and also…What DO YOU think happens when you give a bunch of kids at school and 5 little girls a package of confetti eggs? Well, you will just have to wait and see…

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

6 responses »

  1. That brownie pizza looks really good! I might have to try doing that. I don’t know if I’d use Gluten free or not, probably just regular mix, but it’s neat that it can be adapted for someone who’s gluten free :). Glad you had a short week!

Leave a Reply

