The Last Days of Christ Reenactment

Standard

This past weekend I was part of a reenactment called “The Last Days of Christ.” This play lasted from last Thursday-Saturday. This was my first year that I knew about it, knew somebody that was in and was asked to help out.

Coincidentally, one of my students in my class parents were the people who were over the entire event. It was really neat to be able to share this with one of my students and their parents.

There was around 12-13 scenes all depicting the “Last Days of Christ.” I had to memorize around 4 pages of a speech to say. If you know me, then you know that I am not a great person at memorizing, but that i can do it when I have to or when it is something that I am very passionate about, such as my faith.

Needless to say I was able to memorize the script and I went on Thursday night so that I could watch it and then I had to perform it on Friday and Saturday.

There was one part of the script that I was not very comfortable with, because I did not grow up doing this. I grew up Southern Baptist and we step out of our comfort zone whenever we “clap, raise our hands, put our hands on people to pray or bless people.” Not to say that any of that is wrong, but it is just different if you are not raised doing it.

At the end of my script, I had to use the olive oil to bless anybody that wanted me to by making a sign of the cross on their forehead. Now, this is quite weird to me, but I see the spiritual purpose behind it and everyone is worships in their own way, but it was just different to me.

If I had to guess, I would say that I had over 30 groups that I talked to within the two nights and almost all of these were back to back. After about the 4th time of saying my script I had it down really well!

Sorry, most of these images are dark, because I finally got to walk through at night, but if you can imagine what was happening here, it is very powerful! I am amazed out how much Christ prayed and suffered for us!

“The Passover” or “The Last Supper”.

My friends and I all worked the same booth, but we had different shifts. I work with these two wonderful ladies at school and I could not ask for better coworkers or friends!

Overall, the event was a success. There was a lot of healing, praying and hearts turned toward Christ over the 3 days that this was going on. I was physically, mentally and spiritually tired after the entire event, but I was also blessed beyond imagine.

Not to leave anyone hanging on my running journey….but…

I ran yesterday for 2 miles, and then I swam for about 30 minutes. I did different laps of breast stroke, butterfly, backstroke, elementary backstroke, treading water and front crawl.

I have some exciting news (well to me at least) coming up this week…here is your hint: It deals with swimming.

Question: Have you ever helped out at an event such as this one? 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

4 responses »

  1. I’ve never done an event like that as an adult, but as a teen I was in one of those drama skit groups with my church group- right about when that stuff was getting popular, early 2000s, and everyone was doing a skit to “Total Eclipse of the Heart”. I played the teen who just found out she was pregnant. It looks like you had fun doing this, though!

Leave a Reply

