DPS Family 5K

Standard

Thank you for all the advice on the Brazilian Butt Lift post! I loved reading what ya’ll had to tell me. It is going great, but it is tough that is for sure. I can already feel a difference, well at least I am more sore than I was. 

This weekend I am running my first 5K of the season. It is called the DPS Family 5K. My husband is a DPS officer, so when they decided to have a 5K to help raise money for some different things I was very excited to run it with him. HOWEVER, because of the lovely schedules that come out (not that they are bad, I love his job) he is not able to run it with me now.

So I will be running this race SOLO!

I have not ran a 5K race since last year in October I believe and it was HOT!!!!!

This was a great race, however I was training in my Vibrams and my calfs were as tight as rocks, which is not to fun to run on.

I am not sure if I can say that I am trained for this race completely. I am not trying to PR, because I am not in 5K training. I am in training for my full in December. This race is just going to be a nice easy run for me. I will be running alongside a bunch of DPS officers, wives and kids. I just want to have fun with it. I wish my husband could run with me, but that is okay that he can not.

Wish me luck as I attempt my first 5K of the season. It is probably going to be a hot one!

Question: What 5K races do you have coming up or what have you already ran? 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

4 responses »

  1. Good luck with the race! Sorry that your husband can’t do it with you, but he’ll be there in spirit and I’m sure you’ll do fine.

    I’m going to run a little free 5K my gym puts on Saturday. It’s mostly to test a new course and timing system, but I think they just need runner so I’ll help them out (no shirts or prizes or any of that, but you do get your time). Then I have an actual race on May 12.

Leave a Reply

