Birthday Bash #1

Standard

Last week as ya’ll saw, it was my birthday and I was not very excited about this one. You have to understand though that my family is not big birthday people. I never really had birthday parties growing up. I can remember having one whenever I was 5 and the last one I remember at 13 (this one I had to beg for!). So, this year I was not expecting anything other than hanging out with my family, husband and it just being another year.

 

 

 

 

 

It started out this way, but then it changed a little. My husband went out and bought me a very yummy cake and set up a dinner with my parents, brother and his family and just hang out and that was supposed to be my birthday dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

This cake was so yummy! It was raspberry Chocolate and was very tall. I had to bring the rest of it to school so that I did not have to have it at home.

 

 

 

 

 

We went to Saltgrass and ate dinner. I had steak and potatoes! I do not get steak that much, so I knew before I went in there, that I wanted to eat that. Hey, it’s my birthday, so I can splurge, right????

 

 

 

 

 

We had a great time while we were there with family. The best party of the night was when the manager came out and started talking to me as though I was my nieces mother. Now, keep in mind that my nieces get accused of being my kids all the time because we do look quite a bit alike.

 

 

 

 

 

If you look closely, these three beautiful girls look a whole lot like Brian and I and it is all because of the lovely people standing in the back….my parents.

 

 

 

 

 

Brian and I ended the night by going to my brothers house and hanging out with him since he could not make it that night! I just love having them living so close to me now. Before we would live states apart at times!

This birthday SO FAR has been amazing and I could not ask for better family and friends. But JUST WAIT, until you see just how amazing my family and friends are! I am waiting for pictures and then I will really be able to show you!

Question: Did you have a lot of birthday parties growing up or were they not a big deal to you? 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

One response »

  1. I had birthday parties a lot when I was really little, but they stopped when I was maybe 8 or 9. Then my parents would let me have a friend or two over to spend the night or something, but nothing big. I didn’t even celebrate too big for my 21st- just went out for dinner and drinks with a few friends. My biggest birthday was when I turned 24 just because I was on a cruise :).

    Looks like you had a fun time hanging out with the fam! The cake looks very tasty and I can see why people think your nieces are your kids (I don’t think people will think my kids are my kids when I have kids… people still think I am a kid, hehe). Glad you’re having a great birthday so far, guess I can read about the rest later :).

Leave a Reply

