I AM CERTIFIED! WSI

Standard

I am now officially a certified WSI (Water Safety Instructor) Instructor! I have been in class the past 2 weeks everyday from 5 pm to 9 pm. It was a very hard 2 week time period! I was up at school at 6 a.m. until 4 pm and then driving almost 30 minutes to class downtown and then staying there and either swimming or in class till 9 pm. I had to do this Monday through Friday for the past 2 weeks. 

Yesterday I took my written test and made a 96 on it! I am so nervous about this test because I am a horrible test taker! The day before that on Wednesday I had to do my swimming test which I was worried about my breaststroke! That is my weakest stroke, so I was very nervous to do that one in front of the instructors, but I PREVAILED and showed them what I was made of! 

We went from having 5 people in the class to only having 3 people in the class. 2 people got kicked out of the class  because they were not able to make up the water time! I had to teach 4 different lessons to students and pass that part. 

As for my workouts/running the past two weeks it has consisted of none and none! I have been swimming more in the past two weeks then I have in the past 2 years. I swam for 4 hours the other day practicing on my strokes during class in a 25 yard pool. Back and Forth, Back and Forth, Back and Forth! If that tells you anything about how far I swam. We probably went up and down the pool at least 20 times. AT LEAST! 

I am grateful that I am certified now, but it was hard! I already have almost 19 kids signed up to take classes from me, so next week I will be getting everything together to start setting up my classes. 

School Note: School is almost over. We have, let’s count them…..13 days left starting this monday! Not even two weeks left! While I love my kids, I am ready for summer and ready to send my kids on to 3rd grade. I am ready for a new bunch, although I amy not be saying that next year! I love my kids and they will always hold a special place in my heart! 

Question: Do you have any running/working out plans this weekend? Any good races happening out there? 

I have my mud run that I will be dressing up 80’s workout style for! I am running with some of my fellow teachers, so I am so excited about that! There will be plenty of pictures to share I am sure of it! 

2 responses »

  1. I’m running a 5K this weekend, but no special clothes for it. I don’t think I’d wear anything I remotely liked to a mud run though, those things are crucial! At least the ones here, people are completely covered in dirt and mud. Not for me, though.

    Glad you got your certification! Sounds like a long process but definitely worth it, and you can always chalk the swimming up as cross training for running :).

Leave a Reply

