1st Annual DPS 5K Recap

Standard

A couple of weeks ago I ran my first 5K of the season. I have not been training for a 5K, so I was not to concerned as to how well I did in this race. My goal was to finish the race before my ROCKMYRUN music turned off, so basically 30 minutes. My husband and I were supposed to run this race together, but he ended up having to work.

As I got to the race, it was not very well organized, just based on where we were supposed to park, signs or markers. They had medals for the kids that ran and they had medals for the 1st-3rd place winners for each age division as well as door prizes galore. That was a nice thing, but the overall organization of the race could have been better. If you had never ran in this park before, you would not have known where to go.

At the ONE water stop, they did not hand out cups of water like most runners are used to, they handed out bottles. Well, you and I probably know that it is extremely hard to run with a small bottle of water in your hand. So I drank what I wanted and then dumped the rest of it on my head.

This race was a very small race. There was probably only 20-30 people running it. While I have ran smaller races, it was still a small one. I met up with a friend of mine that is an ultra marathon runner and this was also his first 5k race of the season.

He ended up placing 2nd in his age division and I was just happy to finish the race.

After I finished the race, I am happy to report I did not come in dead last, but I was also racing against DPS officers/troopers, we had door prizes. I usually never win any of these things. They had different gift cards for restraints and shopping stores such as Academy. Their big prize was a 19+ cooler that had an extension handle and wheels on it. It was over $90 (so they said).

 

Take a wild guess who won this prize?????

 

 

 

 

 

ME!!! I WON IT!! This cooler filled up the whole back end of my car! It was HUGE!

 

 

 

 

 

I figured we could use it as our coffee table, but Brian did not like that idea, so now I am not sure what we are going to use it for! I really like it and I know it will come in handy one day.

Overall, the race was a good run, but it could have been much more organized then it was. However, they did do a good job and you learn from your mistakes and the critiques that people give you that have been running for a while.

Thank you to the Department of Publish Safety for putting this race on! I am sure it is only going to get even better as the years go by.

Question: What have you won for a race before? 

***** I was supposed to have a Mud run recap for you today, however that was cancelled due to inclement weather and will be rescheduled for another date! I am not sure when, but hopefully soon! I am dying to run it now!*****

*****Small giveaway coming soon!******

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

4 responses »

  1. I have a wall hanger full of medals, a few trophies/plaque thingys, a certificate, couple ribbons, etc. I’ve done two races where I actually won money (again, very small, and the money basically covered the entry fee because I never get first overall). But that cooler is a pretty sweet prize- you might not know what you would use it for but that’s a pretty useful thing to win. If you have a backyard barbeque or something you can put drinks in there or if you ever coach a team it will come in VERY VERY handy :).

    Congrats on finishing your 5K! sounds like a super small race but sometimes those are more fun, since it was the first one it will probably be better organized next year :).

Leave a Reply

