Building, Buying and so much more!

Standard

I have not mentioned much on here about why I have not been posting a lot. I promise I would be on here more, but my husband and I have been a little detained at the time. We are working on something that is very very important to us in our lives.

Did my title give it away????   Awwwww, shucks! Well, if not, then here it is! We are building our very first house! 

 We have been married 3 years and we have saved for a long time to be able to do this. I have cleaned houses and babysat all while teaching 2nd grade to get some extra money coming in. My husband has worked overtime quite a few times to be able to bring some extra money in and all that money has gone straight to our house!

We went to the building company that we have been looking at for over a year now in May and finally decided to talk to them. We can not stand our apartment complex anymore! The company was so nice and walked us through every step of the process. The first day of decisions we had to make over 37 color, pattern, brick, etc. choices. I am so excited to share our building process with all of you! Here were some of our first decisions that we made! 

 

 

 

 

This is our granite (countertops), tile, carpet and cabinets. We are going to have tile floor throughout the whole house except for in the bedrooms. Our tile is also going to double as our backsplash in our kitchen. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is our brick color. We had to walk down through the neighborhood to find a color on a house that we liked. I could not just look at a small sample and imagine it on our future house!  We picked 3 brick colors before that and because we are going to be in a cul-de-sac we could not use any of those colors. 

I knew I did not want a red, yellow or white brick! This made my decision so much harder! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first door on this page is the one that we chose for our inside doors. This was also difficult to pick out without seeing what the door looked like in person. Can you tell I am a very visual person? :0) 
And then we picked out our shingles! I did not know there was so many different colors of shingles! We decided on a very neutral tone when it came to our roof. We made those decisions above as well as so many others, such as windowsill color, putty color, and other crazy things that I would never think about unless I was told to pick it out. 

Our next decisions consisted of lighting and front/back doors. 

We are hoping to be moving in October! That is going to be a crazy time for me because I will just be getting into a groove again with teaching  and everyday life things. Once we get settled in though, I am going to join the cross fit community in the area! I am so ready to start doing that again!

Coming up this week, I have two reviews of some awesome products. And it is my last week of swimming lessons!!! YAY!!!! 

Question: Have you ever built a house or do you want to one day? 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

