Crossfit Open

Standard

I made the huge leap this past week and signed up for the Crossfit Games Open! I have only been doing Crossfit since November 2012, but I thought…”What the heck!” We will try it out and see how I compare to other athletes. I am not the strongest or the fastest, but I am willing to give it my best shot. If you have not heard of the Crossfit Games, then check out this recap from last year.


These athletes are intense and are there to show the world and themselves that they can do anything that they put their mind too.

“Every Wednesday, from March 6 to April 3, an Open workout is posted. Everyone then has until that Sunday to complete the workout. Athletes have the choice of competing at a participating CrossFit affiliate, or submit a videotape of their performance to the Games website. The Open will consist of five workouts over five weeks.”

Source: About the Season

At the end of 5 weeks, the top athletes in each region will go to the Regionals and compete. Then the top 3 men and 3 women will compete at the games!

I am also going to be competing on a team level with my hometown Crossfit gym! That has its own set of rules and regulations.

I am excited to see what I can push my body to do and see what I can do. I am not going to say that I can RX everything, because I know I probably can not, but I am sure going to try! I know that I can RX my pullups, the running and wall balls for sure! Everything else we will just have to wait and see.

The other day my friend and I accomplished this at Crossfit…

one handed hand stand

 

It is nothing big, but I went up on my first time and pulled my hand up. I guess all those years of tumbling are starting to come back and haunt me now. :0)

I have also finally accomplished unassisted pull-ups! I went into Crossfit not being able to pull myself up at all and then almost 4 months later I am doing assisted, wait nounassisted pullups. I started out with a green band, and now it is all me!!

Are they pretty? No, not all the time

But can I do them? YES!!!!!

I did 70 of them the other day and just about killed my arms, but they were all UNASSISTED!! That is a huge leap for me, that I still can not believe I can do!

If you do crossfit and you are not signed up for the open, go do it! It took me a few weeks and lots of Crossfit friends asking if I was signed up yet for me to do it, but I did sign up. See where you rank compared to other athletes in your area or just do it for yourself!

You will never know if you do not try first! 

What are you waiting for….go sign up and see what you can do! 

Question: Are you already signed up for the Crossfit Games Open? If so, what team are you on or are you going individual? 

7 responses »

  1. Congratulations on your progress! The competitive nature of CrossFit is what turned me off. After two years of doing it, I just got tired of that aspect. It never ceases to amaze me how what one person despises can really energize another person. That’s what makes the world go ’round! You look great!

  2. OH MY WORD- Woman! You are incredible! I have recently joinedour 10 Fitness here in Little Rock and my pastor as well as a bunch of my friends from church all meet up on weekdays after work to complete our WOD’s…I truly use Crossfit training as a supplement to my biking…but you are LEGIT! Holy cow! I can’t believe your times and your physical accomplishments! A one hand push up? Seriously? I can’t even do a two-handed without falling over. So so proud of you! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

