A look Into My World

Standard

It is a new year and many people around me are making New Year’s Resolutions. I know, I know, I am a few days late, but better late than never! I am typically not one to make New Years Resolutions, but I do like to set goals for myself. I thought this year I might try something a bit different. Instead of making month to month goals or a full year goal, I would just try to do one week at a time. 

If I can challenge myself to complete one goal a week or maybe two, then I can possibly add more as the year goes on! Last year nothing too exciting was happening for my husband and I! We were getting settled in our new town, house and searching for a new church that we felt comfortable in.

We are lucky enough to both be blessed with awesome jobs and work with some pretty fabulous people! Such as these lovely ladies below! 

Image

 

We also have a new home that we are blessed enough to have the finances to pay for and live comfortably! However, there are still things that we would like to do to the home! 

Overall though our year was fantastic, just nothing to exciting happened. Here are a few pictures from the year to recap…

Image

We went to Tennessee for a vacation and had a fabulous time! 

Image

 

We were able to attend a gala with my brother and sister-in-law. 

Image

 

One of my best friends had her baby this year! 

Image

 

We also lost someone near and dear to our hearts! Brian’s grandpa passed away this year! He was the most amazing person and the best grandpa anybody could ever want! We will always miss and love you pawpaw! 

 

 

Image

I shot two alligators with a young man from Swamp People! It was such an adrenaline rush! 

Image

 

And last but not least, I ran one of the COLDEST races of my life and had a BLAST! 

Short Term Goals:

 I have 4 of them and I am going to try to stick to them, so hold me accountable please! 

1. Make it through my first week back to school with the kids! 

2. Start eating clean and stick with it this week! The beginning is always the hardest, but I want to do this for myself! 

3. Workout 5 days a week. 

I am not one of those New Years Resolution people that never workout, I promise! I have been training 5 days a week for quite a while. If you know any teachers or anybody that works and has to carry their work home, you know how hard this can be to work out in the evening as well as teach, but I have to make myself do it! 

4. Blog at least 2 times a week for now! (I know I need to blog more, but that is quite hard when all I want to do is sleep after I teach all day, workout and then come home!)

 

Long Term Goals: 

I just have three as of right now! These are for the whole year and will get done this year! 

1. Build a fence for our house! 

2. Finish putting down grass in our backyard. 

3. Run the Reality Challenge mud run with my friends. 

These to me seem like achievable goals, and I want to try to stick to them! I like the word goals better than resolutions if you can not tell! It is something that I can strive for verses conforming to the world around me! I do not want to be one of those people that just have the resolutions and then do not stick with them after a few weeks. 

 

Did you come up with any GOALS for this year that you are striving to reach? 

 

 

 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

7 responses »

  1. I have lots of goals for the year in pretty much every aspect of my life. BUT 1 thing I’m doing differently this year is the One Word. I chose the word “Believe” because I feel like if I really focus on this one word then all of the goals I’m working toward will be more attainable! And just in the 1st 4 days of the new year I’ve been repeating this word a lot. 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  2. Make it through the first week back with the kids! I’m down with that!!! Tomorrow is a teacher work day for us (first day back from Christmas break). There is supposed to be a lot of snow and ice during the night, so I am keeping my fingers crossed for a snow day. I wouldn’t mind one extra day of vacation!

Leave a Reply

