ReAlliety Challenge

Standard

A couple of months ago I was able to run the ReAlliety Challenge in Lake Charles, LA. I was able to run with my friends Mary and Chelsey! We love running mud runs and this was one that we have not had the chance to run yet!

This race is  “An annual event brought to you by Realliety Athletic Productions (R.A.P). The goal of R.A.P is to create family-focused and fitness centric events that will promote community service, wellness and entertainment within our community.”

We were nervous that this race was going to be cold because in SouthEast Texas and SouthWest Lousiania the weather is constantly changing. Our race was scheduled for 11 a.m., so we left the morning of the race and headed that way!

IMG_2002 IMG_2011IMG_2014IMG_2017

It was a little chilly whenever we got to the race, but it was not near as bad as the Savage race that we ran! We decided to wear bright colors and I ended up loving what I ran in so much! We also wore tall socks. We have realized in the different color runs and mud run that whenever you wear the tall socks that you do not have to clean mud or color off of that part of your body as much.

We started the race and the first obstacle was this tall wall that you had to figure out how to climb over (pictured above)! It was not easy, especially for a short person, but we figured it out.

IMG_2020IMG_2035

 

I have pretty well decided that with almost all mud runs that I am just running them for fun. Each one is a challenge and difficult in it’s own way, but I love running them. I especially love running them with friends who enjoy it as much as I do!

IMG_2053IMG_2055

My favorite obstacle was the monkey bars! Whenever I got to this obstacle I was not sure if I would be able to complete the race or not. There was a guy on the other side that would help us across by grabbing our feet as we held onto the bars! Whenever he asked me if I needed help I told him no, but I was very nervous at the end to swing onto the ledge! I ended up doing this on my own, but it was definitely one experience that I will not forget!

IMG_2057IMG_2093IMG_2081

My friends were not a fan of going through the water and neither was I knowing what was probably in that water! I love swimming, but not whenever I know that gators, snakes and other creepy crawlies are in there! Yikes! Chelsey shows no fear of the water in the picture above!

IMG_2129

 

We finished the race and had so much fun running it! I was not very impressed by the flag that they gave us as we crossed the finish line. The previous year they gave them a necklace of some kind, so I was kind of expecting something along those lines. For the price of the race you normally would get a little something more!

IMG_2131IMG_2135

There was this really neat board that we ended up sticking our flags in after the race. I am not really sure the point of the night standing there, but I wanted to take a picture with him, so there you go! We didn’t stick around the race for very long. We ended up going back to my inlaws house, showing, changing and then going to find some food. We shopped for a little while and went down Shell Beach to look at the older homes and then ended up meeting my sister -in- law Karen at the boardwalk.

IMG_2137IMG_2139

 

Positives about the race:

1. Great location (out in the middle of nowhere, but still pretty easy to get too).

2. Awesome obstacles

3. Had ways around the obstacles incase you didn’t want to do them or couldn’t.

4. I LOVE their shirt! It is soft and NOT WHITE!

5. Had wave times, so that was nice so it was not so crowded!

6. Great support from people in the race and at different obstacles.

Negatives about the Race:

1. NO MEDALS!! I usually sign up for a race and know if I am going to get a medal for it! For the price of this race I was expecting to be given something other than a 50 cent flag at the end.

2. Some of the obstacles had nails or boards that were loose. This is a safety concern for me only because of getting things in your bloodstream.

Overall there was not that many negatives I have for this race.

Here is a video that I made of more picture/video taken during the race! I love taking my iPhone along with me to document what we go through! It is so much fun!!

 

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

8 responses »

  1. That looks FUN!!! I’ve never done a mud race but would love to try one someday!

    Do you only run or do you workout too? I know I need to do some strength training, but it is one of those things that falls into the boring category for me. 🙂 Suggestions???

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

    • You would so love it Shannon!! I would much rather run a 5K mud run then a hot sweaty 5K!
      I run and do strength training! I love to lift weights! I feel like I am stronger whenever I run because I lift weights. I have been following the Jamie Eason plan on bodybuilding.com. It starts off as easy as you want it too and you can build the weight up from there!
      I also go to a gym where they have different strength building classes that are a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

