A Busy Christmas Break in pictures

Standard

This Christmas break was quite busy for me. My husband had to work out of town for the week of Christmas (YAY Me!). Thankfully, I have some awesome family who included me in their Christmas activities and fun. I started Christmas break off at Journey to the North Pole. It is a huge celebration that my church puts on for the community. My friend Mary and I got to test some of the activities early on…

crazy friend

Then, my parents just bought a new home 45 minutes from me and to say I am excited is just a little bit of how I feel. I love that they are so close to me! I went to their house to help them unpack. They own a beautiful piece of property.

parents land

We went from there to my brother’s house to celebrate my side of the families Christmas. We usually celebrate on Christmas Eve.

anna and I

lauren and I

I decided that I wanted to stay at home that evening (Christmas Eve) because I had my puppies and I wanted to mainly sleep in my own bed. That is such a joy to be able to sleep in your own bed especially when you travel quite a bit.

The next day I got up and went to my other brother’s house and celebrated Christmas morning with them. They had a stocking from Santa and everything waiting for me. It was so very sweet of them and I was not expecting it. I was going to be spending Christmas Day with their family.

meagan and I at christmas

My niece wanted me to help her color her bag she had gotten that morning. I am still a big kid at heart and love to color just as much as any other kid.

That day was so much fun and I enjoyed spending it with their family. I did not expect them to get me a gift there since they do Secret Santa by my sister-in-laws mother surprised me with a gift.

That Saturday, before my husband came back from work. I woke up ready to do 10 miles. It was the bardes 10 miles I have ever done before! I was miserable. It didn’t help that the humidity was around 90% and it was not hot or cold. I had to stop so many times and felt really defeated for my upcoming half marathon.

sick 10 miler

I realized later that day why it was such a miserable run….I had the FLU!! Can you see how pale I looked! Since then I have been in bed, taking tamiflu and resting. I am not taking any chances of relapsing since my 1st half this year is in less than 16 days (2 weeks)! YIKES!!

Here’s to hoping for a better 2015 then it has started out to be and getting much better before school starts and my upcoming half marathon! I hope everyone has had a relaxing Christmas break and New Years! I got some awesome running gear for Christmas this year and I can not wait to share it with you all!

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

2 responses »

    • Shannonjoe I am feeling much better! It took about a week for me to get back to feeling normal again. I am going to run tomorrow, so I am hoping it didn’t set me back to far! There are probably quite a few 5K’s starting to pop up!

Leave a Reply

