Happy Birthday US Army- Hero Wod

Standard

On Tuesday, I was able to participate in a Hero Wod at my crossfit gym. This wod was celebrating the United States Army birthday on June 14, 1775 and also honoring the victims  and families from the shooting in Orlando. The events that have been happening have really made me think about how grateful and lucky I am to live where I live. I feel like sometimes I am in a bubble and in my own little world.

My heart hurts for these families that have loved ones going through this. This Hero Wod is designed to make you work harder than your body thinks it can, to keep pushing to finish even though your head tells you to stop. It is designed to push hard for the victims and the people who put their life on the line each and every day!

This is how the wod went….

1775

Complete as many rounds as possible in 60 minutes of:
17 power cleans, 135 lb.
75 squats
Unload the barbell and carry it 200m then Run 200m.
Return to the plates and then carry one plate 200m, then Run 200m. 

Retrieve the second plate, carry it 200m and reload the barbell for the next round.

You repeated this workout over and over again for an hour. If you had to leave at 45 minutes (end of class) then you could, but everybody in my class stayed and finished the full 60 minutes. It was hard, but I truly enjoyed this workout and knowing that I may not be doing alot, but I was doing something to honor these different occasions!

13391390_10101843745591238_5303791131932812405_o

Thank you to the Army for putting your life on the line everyday for our freedom. Thank you to the men and women that went into the nightclub and sacrificed your life for the lifes of others. My prayers are with each and every family!

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

