Hitting Close to Home

Standard

This weekend I attended a funeral for a Louisiana State Police Officer. I did not know this officer personally, but I knew his daughter through my husbands family.

Sgt. Tracy Morgan was a wonderful, loving, and honorable man to his family and to his Brothers in Blue. He died last week, leaving this earth incredibly to soon. He loved his family more than words could express and always made time for them even when time was limited. He was an expert crisis negotiator which takes a certain kind of person to be able to take on. He trained numerous officers in this field and was alwasy there to help one of his fellow officers.

img_8515

One thing that I noticed more than anything at the funeral was Mr. Morgan’s wife. Anytime that I saw her she had such composure and calmness. I was told that she is a strong woman of faith and this was very true on this day. As a troopers wife you worry everyday about your husband, but never speak about it. They put theirself on the line day in and day out, but if you let that take over your mind and your heart, it will take over your life.

Being the wife of a Texas State Peace Officer this funeral hit incredibly close to home. There were officers from many different parishes in the state of Louisiana. My husband and I felt that since we knew the family we should come to support the family. My husband dressed in his Class A uniform and represented Texas with pride. On a side note, one person from the church even told my sister-in-law that she saw a Texas Ranger at the funeral. :0)

For all the people out there that are married to an officer, whether it be husband or wife, know that my thoughts are with you daily as you struggle with the fear, anxiety, and uncertantity of their job. Always tell them that you love them before they get in their patrol car with that gun belt and vest on. There are never enough hours in the day to spend with them, so spend what time you do have together and cherish every minute. You never know when it will be the last.

img_8537

In the coming days and months, times will be hard for this family. My deepest prayers go out to them. From one State Peace Officers wife to another all my love goes to you, your family and friends that knew Sgt. Tracy Morgan.

About thelittlerunningteacher

Hi! My name is Kayla and I am a 4th Grade teacher. I have ran quite a few half marathons, mud/adventure runs and many other 5K's and 10K's. I love working out and staying active. I love crossfit and swimming and keeping myself in shape. My family and God are what keep me going each day! Journey with me through my crazy life as a teacher and staying active. I am always up for trying new things!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

